Homepage Garage Wiki Register Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Nav, Radar, Electronics


Cold Air Inductions


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2017, 04:29 PM   #29
JacobC1983
 
JacobC1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2018 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Missouri
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtirocz View Post
What was the part number needed for upper console garage door buttons and where did you source it?
Gen5 DIY had it all... they sent it all to me ready to go.

Give them a private message or call them.
JacobC1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 07:15 AM   #30
TJay74

 
Drives: 17 Camaro SS 1LE & 16 Sierra AT CC
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 1,422
Just a heads up everyone.

I got the Gen5 harness last week, wasnt sure if it would even come in as I never got a tracking email and no one from Gen5 responded when I emailed them for the info.

Anyway, got the harness and installed it in the car. I ordered a new overhead GDO console thru my dealer since I get them at a good price. Installed the panel and went to test everything and it was a no-go. The Homelink GDO would not power on or work. Checked the harness several times and verified I had voltage to the new plug. I then took the GDO over to my 2016 Sierra that has the homelink in it and plugged the Camaro homelink into the trucks plug and the homelink powered right up.

After scratching my head for a bit I took a picture of the connectors on the OEM Sierra plug and the Gen5 plug. The Gen5 plug is wired incorrectly.

From the locking clip on the plug that secures it into the GDO module, it should go:

Black - blank spot - Yellow - Red

My Gen5 harness was setup as Red - White - blank spot - Black

After figuring how to release the micro pins I then re-pinned the Gen5 harness along with redoing the tape wrap on it as out of the box the tape on my harness was coming off and looked like it was done in a hurry.

I got mine working after re-pinning the Gen5 harness. I tried to call Gen5 with no answer and have messaged them on this board and havent heard back from them yet.
TJay74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2018, 08:28 AM   #31
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Camaro SS1LE 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,843
Mine was also pinned wrong. They paid for shipping back to them and fixed it. Works great now.
__________________
2017 Krypton Green SS 1LE
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2002 Trans Am
2015 Ram Crew Cab Cummins
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.