Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

AWE Tuning

Old 12-03-2022, 08:48 AM   #1
BanOne

Drives: 1977 Pontiac Trans Am
Rear Sway bar setting

So I have a question for the more experienced racers in the group on car dynamics. Up to now I have been running with the rear sway bar on the soft setting thinking that would help the rear end on corner exit bite a bit more, not sure the logic it was just the thought at the time. After living with that setting for the past year and a half as I learned the car and became more experienced as a driver I am starting to rethink that. Running in sport1 I get the traction control light flashing on the PDR feedback and it seems the car has trouble putting traction down on corner exit. I do know I need to be better with throttle application and steering unwind but would moving the sway bar to the firm setting help that at all. I have also thought of lowering rear tire pressure as well.

Thanks for the input
BanOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2022, 03:33 PM   #2
Baddawg53

Drives: 17 hyper blue 2SS M6
I do believe a stiffer sway bar actually reduces traction on that particular axle. I've been getting some understeer recently, and my plan is to get an alignment first, and then soften my front bar to get it to even out.

I definitely wouldn't call myself an experienced racer, but I have a bunch of adjustable parts on the car and I've had to mess around with all the settings to get the car neutral.
Baddawg53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2022, 04:11 PM   #3
Msquared

Drives: Chevrolet SS 1LE