Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Other Generations > 4th Generation Camaros

Old 02-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #1
usafcamaro
Trigger Happy

Drives: 1990 K1500
Lightbulb 500RWHP on LS1?

Okay here's my issue. I recently bought a 2001 Camaro SS with several upgrades. The guy I bought it from put the real nice $1400 American Racing headers on it, and I couldn't tell you the exhaust. I know it's not running with cat's though.

What I want to do, is break 500 RWHP. I also want the nice throaty sound of a meaner camshaft. I'd prefer to do this as cheap as is realistic. (Who doesn't?)

I have no idea what the car is putting out right now, but I can get 2 dyno runs in the city for $60 to find out.

If you're going to get into technical numbers and stuff, take into account that I'm an aircraft electrician and NOT a mechanic. I understand the principle of how everything works, but I don't know specifics on anything. (i.e. camshaft numbers and what the F* they mean)

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-21-2013, 04:32 AM   #2
Ken_
Tally Ho!

Drives: 13 2SS/RS 6M, 05 Mitsubishi Evo 8
Dude... you need to go to the dyno and find out what sort of numbers you are making.

Breaking 500 WHP. It's going to take more than a cam. Your best bet is to get with a local tuner in KC and sit down with him and tell him your goals and find out from him how you can get there. Everybody has a different recipe.

Good luck.
Old 02-21-2013, 05:20 AM   #3
usafcamaro
Trigger Happy

Unfortunately I don't live in KC anymore. I'm military stationed in SC, and there aren't exactly a lot of reputable shops out here. Not worried about running the dyno, but more the actual motor work involved in the gains.
Old 02-21-2013, 08:09 AM   #4
Scrappy Doo

Drives: Callaway Rogue
Call texas speed and they will hook you up.

Heads, cam, intake, etc. Going to need all of that to hit 500.