Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > ZL1 Discussions

Phastek Performance

Old 12-02-2022, 01:00 PM   #1
Rapid_blue_zl1_22

Drives: 2022 Rapid Blue ZL1
ZL1 Cam install

Has anyone here done a cam install on their ZL1? My car is currently down for Kong X-port and header install. I have a cam and Weapon-X boost chiller on the way and will probably go ahead and swap the cam out while the car is down. Does anyone have any advise or things to look out for? I was a technician for 15 years, but I've never done a cam on an LT4 before. I tried to search for a cam install write up, but the search function isn't working right now. Any help is appreciated.

Performance: Kong X-Port OEM blower, 1 7/8" TSP headers (Polydyn coated), Corsa Intake/X-pipe/NPP Exhaust, LT5 95MM TB, DSX FlexFuel sensor, Dedicated Motorsports inline fuel filter, Katech Dual fuel pump, WeaponX Boost freeze chiller, WeaponX center and aux HX, PWR oil cooler, and Elite E-2X catch can. Tuned by Pat G 731 WHP on a Mustang Dyno.

Suspension/Brakes: Eibach lowering springs, Vorshlag camber plates, Full SPL rear control arms, DSC Sport suspension controller, Blackwing F/R brake cooling ducts.
Rapid_blue_zl1_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 01:34 PM   #2
SOCAL.M6.ZLE
Having FUN in the SUN...

Drives: 2022 M6 ZL1 1LE
Hey Rapid Blue, Being a tech for 15 years should make this process pretty easy. I just did mine out of the car, thread is here

https://www.camaro6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=609588

Asking for pointers is pretty broad, as there was alot of caveats i covered in my post.

One thing i would address is all of the other supplemental upgrades that make sense while the engine is open. Here is a short list.

1. Pushrods + Trunnion upgrade + Springs / Guides (get a complete cam kit) with LS3 sprocket conversion
2. Katech Oil Pump + LME Chain Guide + C5R Chain