Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Bigwormgraphix

Old 03-15-2019, 01:05 PM   #1
ItsChristianInHD

Drives: 2017 Camaro 2LT RS 3.6L
Advice for a new IT Guy.

Hey all. This will be a long post! And similar to others I have posted.
I wanted to get some advice from anyone who is willing to help. This has been tearing me apart for a while.
I’m a senior at Kent State University, I have an Associates Degree from Eastern Gateway Community College in Information Technology which focused on Networking and Server work. I wanted to get more education under my belt so I’m at Kent for my Bachelor of Technical and Applied Studies: Computer Technology Applied Computer Security and Forensics Technology Concentration.

I really wanted to get into maybe a State job in IT or if I’m lucky for a company in another state because I want to move away. I know for a fact I will have to start out at the Help Desk. Which I’m happy with, right now I work for Penske and a Assistant Store Manager for Ace Hardware. So I have no IT expierence, I never got a internship in either college. I tried applying really hard for them, never got them. So I’m kind of screwed for expierence, there’s really nothing here for jobs I’m lucky to have what I have.

My questions are:
Has anyone worked Help Desk? What’s it like? What am I to expect? I’ve been googling but I want real world outlooks.

After 5 years of college, I know I do not remember everything I learned which kills me. I try to keep everything fresh, all I have is my notes.

Any advice y’all can give to me as a upcoming IT guy?? Speak away if you have anything.
ItsChristianInHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 01:35 PM   #2
DevilsReject97
Nightmare

Drives: Your mom crazy in bed
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsChristianInHD View Post
Hey all. This will be a long post! And similar to others I have posted.