Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > I4 Turbo LTG Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 05-07-2017, 09:02 AM   #1
man0steel

Drives: 2016 2LT vert 2.0 R/S A8
Turbo lag

I have searched and read, read and searched and all I get is confused. I am new to forced induction and quite frankly am some what intimidated by some of the abbreviations. I love my little 4 banger and don't have any plans for any major upgrades, I love everything about this car except the turbo lag. So two questions I have been trying to answer are as follows.

Is there any one thing that does better at reducing lag than the other (i.e. CAI, tune, down pipe, etc).

When pulling from a dead stop does it harm anything by holding the brake and increasing RPM before launch (2500, no tire spin), this seems to get me out of the hole quicker.

Thanks in advance.........please be gentle.
man0steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 10:31 AM   #2
b0bsaget007

Drives: 2016 2LT RS Blue Velvet
1) Typically, a down pipe has the largest effect on turbo response. However, combining that with an intake and a tune will increase that effect even further for each component added.

2) I assume you have the 8-speed automatic. If so, then that won't do really any harm if you do it for a short duration. There is a term for it, 'brake boosting'; kinda like a pseudo launch control.

PC: i5-6600; RX 480 4GB; 16GB DDR4; Samsung 950 PRO 512GB SSD
Car: 2016 Camaro 2LT RS 2.0T 6M Blue Velvet Metallic | ZZP Hi-Flow Catted Downpipe | Injen EVO7300 Cold Air Intake
b0bsaget007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 11:13 AM   #3
Michigan1LTRS
Blessed ❤️

Drives: 2017 1LT RS I4