Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

Phastek Performance

Old 05-13-2021, 02:57 PM   #1
DKBRIM

Drives: 2016 Chevy Camaro
Automatic transmission shifting issue after sharp fast cornering...

Hi all,

I just joined this forum yesterday. I'm new to the Camaro world. A few months back I got a 2016 with the V6 and 8 speed automatic with 41,000 miles.

I've had this happen twice....taking a corner fast, like a 25 MPH corner going 40 or 45. Both times it was a right hand turn/corner. The transmission was in automatic shifting mode...not using tap shifters. Somewhere in the corner, it acted like it got switched to manual shifting and did not shift to the next gear when accelerating after the corner. It was stuck in probably second gear at over 4000 RPM and would not shift automatically. I then shifted it manually with the tap shifter and everything worked normally after that...shifted automatically just fine for the rest of the drive. This has only happened twice, when cornering fast.

Could it be related to this? - Before this happened my check engine light came on and the code was P0711 - Transmission fluid temperature sensor. I have not replaced that sensor yet. I don't really see how a temp sensor can cause the shifting issue only after a sharp corner, but that's the only thing that I can link it to. I cleared the error code and the check engine light has not come back on, although the transmission temperature shown on the dash display is very inconsistent. The second time the shifting problem happened was a couple of weeks after I cleared the P0711 code.

Thoughts?
DKBRIM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 03:32 PM   #2
DriftNDraft

Drives: 2020 1SS 1LE M6 was 2018 V6 RS A8