Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance - Wash, Wax, Detailing, Exterior Repairs

Bigwormgraphix

Old 08-15-2018, 07:02 PM   #1
panther1le

Drives: 2018 Camaro SS 1LE
Clay bar and wax?

Hello everyone, I bought a 2018 1LE last weekend (men I love this car) and drove it from Oklahoma to Dallas but it was raining like crazy. So I'm planning on washing the car this Saturday but I was wondering if I should clay bar the car or just wax it or do both. Which is a good wax to use? I already bought Mother's clay bar kit. I am no expert on detailing so I just want to get some feedback on how shold I start.

Another thing, I would like to do the clear bra and got a quote from Xpel which was $995+tax for partial front coverage. To me that is a little pricey, do you guys think they gave me a good price or should I keep looking?

Thanks for your feedback!
Attached Images

panther1le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 07:35 PM   #2
Boost Creep

Drives: '18 1SS 1LE
Nice choice!
Clay bar first, before you wax.

Depending on your driving the rear quarter panels in front of the rear tires get the most damage. If you plan on tracking the car then invest in full frontal xpel with the mirrors, and "A" pillars along with the rear quarters.

I cruise back country twisties so I don't see a lot of frontal, except bugs, but the rear quarters take a beating.
Old 08-15-2018, 07:39 PM   #3
Glen e
Retired from Car mfrs....

Drives: 2LT RS/HR-V
You really shouldn't go from Clay to wax, without a polish between them. The Clay Will mar the paint (that's ok) so you need to wax on/wax off a polish after the clay. Meguires 205 Is a good polish for a new car. Then you can wax, however you're better off using a sealant. A few good sealants are talked about in the detailing section.

Last edited by Glen e; 08-15-2018 at 08:02 PM.
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote