Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

Bigwormgraphix

Old 05-19-2019, 03:13 AM   #1
TEST DRyVer

Drives: 17 ZL1 6mt with PDR
Considering 2SS 1LE vs ZL1 - pros and cons

It's not an easy decision (first world problem, I know...). First off, I'm fairly new to domestic cars. I've owned over a couple dozen performance cars in my life (I'm 42 and live in AZ), and the only domestics I've owned in the past were: 2005 CTS-V, 2003 SRT-4, 2005 GT Mustang. Recently, the drop in prices on Corvettes got me thinking (and shopping online). I've ruled out the Vette because I would like something more comfortable. This will be my daily, and I will likely have it for 1 year, put 20k miles on it, and sell or trade it.
That being said, buying low and having the highest resale value at the end of one year is one of my main goals. I will of course lose some money, as I do with all my cars, but I'm willing to lose $4-8k, not $15+k in a year. I was pretty set on an 2SS 1LE, but I just recently drove one. It was a balanced car, but I know I would end up modifying for additional power if I bought an SS. From what I've been reading, it seems that Chevy dealerships are not very tolerant of mods (headers, exhaust, cats, etc...)
On the flip side, if I picked up a 17 or 18 ZL1 6mt, I don't think I would be dumping money for mods. I might swap out the wheels, spoiler, and add some strategically placed wrap to change the esthetics a bit, but I don't see the need for additional power on a ZL1. To me, the 2SS 1LE looks perfect out of the box! I wouldn't change anything aesthetically, but I would feel the need for additional power.
I'm in no rush, actually I would prefer to wait till aggressive pricing drops in November. It will soften the market for both cars.