Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 01-17-2023, 06:18 AM   #1
ardyzl1
Professional Paranoiac

Drives: Camaro ZL1
Can your camaro (or any modern car) be hacked remotely?

I'm a retired IT systems admin. I wrote and debugged large scale internal applications for a well known three letter company. I am not a security expert, but I know about some of the basics.

I stumbled upon this article on Bruce Schneier's Blog. Bruce Schneier is one of the world's foremost IT security experts.
Remote Vulnerabilities in Automobiles

https://www.schneier.com/page/2/

He links to this article by some other security experts.

https://samcurry.net/web-hackers-vs-the-auto-industry/

This is pretty serious stuff. The good news is that GM is not mentioned in the article. The bad news is that GM and all other auto manufacturers are vulnerable to all the same hacks because they all use the same type of systems.

If you are not a computer security expert you probably won't understand much of it, and I don't understand all of it myself either. But what it means is that there are a whole bunch of ways to access your car remotely, and hackers can do it as well as unscrupulous dealers, repair shops, OnStar, auto makers, and their employees. In fact good hackers can probably do more than authorized personnel, simply because hackers understand the technology better than most authorized employees.

I don't know what the solution is, but I would guess that we really need to be using two factor authentication and go back to physical keys to lock and unlock things. Combined, this becomes three factor authentication, and even that may not be totally secure. Hackers are very clever guys.