Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 03-08-2019, 11:18 PM   #1
mano_camaro
IYAOYAS

Drives: 22 1LE 2SS M6 Riverside Blue
Thinking about replacing rear tires only

Hello gents, I have a nail on one of my rear stock tires (275/ run flats) only 7,200 miles on the car. I will track the car about once a month, I'm thinking about keeping the front 245's and replacing both rears to 285 or 295 on stock wheels. What are your suggestions? Im new to performance cars and learning from this forum. I appreciate your inputs.

2020 Red Hot Camaro 2SS 1LE/PDR /Sold

2018 black Camaro 2SS M6 Redline Edition/Traded

2016 summit white Camaro RS V6 M6/Traded
mano_camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 02:19 PM   #2
Alpha1BC

Drives: 2017 1SS 1LE
First, when you got a nail in the tire, did you ever run the tires at very low air pressure? I.e., less than 20 psi or so? If you kept the air up above that and the nail is in the tread and not shoulder or sidewall, a patch plug should be fine to continue using the tire even on the track. You need to replace a run-flat if it was actually run without significant air pressure because the sidewalls become damaged when driving without enough air pressure.

Now, if you do get tires, first thing to consider is that you want to have the same brand/type of tire on all 4 corners. Don't swap just rears because the differences in tire construction and compounds can make the car drive very poorly.