#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 04-03-2018, 11:28 AM   #1
Pollock
LT4 M6

Drives: 2018 ZL1 1LE
Do you track in the rain?

My first scheduled event is in late April. The extended forecast shows rain both days. Of course that could change. As you know its been rather cool and wet this spring at least here in Indiana.

Anyway. Do I go in the rain or stay home? What have your experiences been in the rain? I am a Novice driver BTW. The windows have to be down. Not liking the idea of the inside of my car getting soaked then smelling like mildew.
Pollock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 11:33 AM   #2
R3ctivision
1LE Convert

Drives: 2018 ZLE
Go. Bring lots of towels, tarps, and reserve a garage if you can.

My first track day was in an insane deluge and I learned a TON. Also, FWIW, the wear on the car is much less in the rain, yet you still learn a lot about car control.
R3ctivision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 11:50 AM   #3
ninetres

Drives: Crush ZLE M6 | 2000 Corvette FRC
It’s actually a BLAST to drive in track in the rain. It removes all pressure to set an impressive lap time, and you learn more about controlling your car than you would in 10 dry days.

Make sure you have good all season tires though or you’ll have a bad time.
ninetres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 11:58 AM   #4
Boost Creep

Drives: '18 1SS 1LE
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninetres View Post
One of the reasons I'm surprised Michelin or Continental haven't made a 305 rear tire to match their available 285/30R20 all season tires.
Boost Creep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 12:01 PM   #5
closs2sx

Drives: 1970 chevelle