Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 LT1 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

AWE Tuning

Old 09-30-2020, 08:40 PM   #1
MeanGreen1LE

Drives: 17 krypton green 1le
Ideal compression ratio for DI

I’m in Oklahoma and pretty much all I can get is 91 octane and no e85 even remotely close.

The heads I have coming have slightly larger chambers so I’m down a smidge from factory. I was thinking about going .040 or maybe even the .028 to raise it a little. But again I know I’m limited with 91 just don’t know how much with being DI. So what’s ideal with 91 pump for LT1?
MeanGreen1LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 08:41 PM   #2
6spdhyperblue

Drives: 6th gen
You could roll this into your cam thread because it’s based on your cam timing
Old 09-30-2020, 08:52 PM   #3
MeanGreen1LE

I’ll admit to being a novice here but doesn’t cam timing affect dynamic cr? Which I believe you can play with that to make up for your static ratio? But where should I start with my static compression ratio for best results?
Old 09-30-2020, 10:32 PM   #4
95 imp
Dumb Ass Deluxe

Drives: A Tricked Out Mountain Bike
What 6spdhyperblue said....

Do you plan to run your motor?

Then static ratio is kinda meaningless if you're trying to figure out true cr so you have an *idea* of what octane fuel you'll need.

If you plan to just crank the motor over by hand and never run it, go with static cr as your base.
Old 10-01-2020, 10:48 PM   #5
laynlo15

Drives: 2022 Lt1 A10
Did you talk about this with the company your getting the heads from? I wouldn't exceed the 11.5 ratio that the stock Lt1 comes with. GM builds the engines to work down to 87 octane but no one should ever run that in a 11.5 CR engine. I'd stay around the compression ratio.