Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 03-16-2021, 07:21 AM   #1
L78toLT1

Drives: Hyper Blue 2016 2SS 6M
Two Post Lift Advice Needed

Hey guys, I'm not sure where this post belongs, but I figured I'd stick it here as most everyone probably peruses the General forum.

Anyway, after 61 years of wallowing around under cars supported by jack stands, I have finally had enough. I am planning to add a two-post lift to my shop and have been researching options. I am leaning heavily towards Mohawk, probably their Model System 1A. I’m a mechanical engineer who has spent the past 35 years designing aircraft parts and tooling; I really appreciate quality. Based on my research, Mohawk appears to be heads and shoulders above any of the other manufacturers. I frankly don’t see how it can even be debated that Mohawk uses the best materials and is easily the most robust design. Be that as it may, I realize that that any recognized brand e.g. Challenger, Rotary, Atlas, etc. will be less expensive, and will easily last me for the rest of my automotive life.
I’m willing to spend the extra bucks for the Mohawk provided the actual functionality and ease of use is equal to or better than competing lifts. The Mohawk is impressive and it’s nice to look at, but if any of the competing lifts are easier to use and live with, that would probably outweigh the other factors.
Does anyone have experience, good or bad, with Mohawk or any other two post lift that would help me to make an informed decision?