Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

AWE Tuning

Old 03-22-2022, 12:51 PM   #1
Punisher2050

Drives: Chevrolet 2018 Camaro 2ss
Stop using the term "Color Correction & Paint Correction"

I want to start off by saying I am not a paint expert or detail expert. I have painted a few cars in my days and I have detailed every one of my cars, family cars and friends. With that out of the way..

I recently bought 2018 Camaro 2ss Silver Ice Metallic and couldn't wait for Spring so I could get her cleaned up, washed, and waxed. I started investigating Ceramic Coating as an option because I felt the shine is far superior.

Since I have never clayed a car before I investigated options for several months. I also did quit bit of ceramic coating research. The one term that kept coming up and used indiscriminately, "Color Correction & Paint Correct". So I started reading more about this Term.

I then read somewhere maybe here in the forums, someone spent $4000+ to have "Color Correction & Paint Correction, plus Ceramic Coating done. I thought WTH ?? no way and no way ?

My first thought...why do they keep using the terms "Color Correction & Paint Correct" ?? I don't buy it, not true and how are they "Correcting the Paint".

The typical automotive paint system on the car surface has a total of 4 layers. The layers consist of e-coat, the primer, the basecoat, and finally, the clear coat. So, unless your clear coat is "gone" you are NOT changing or correcting Paint color. When they say this...the only coat that is getting "Corrected" is the Clear Coat. IF your paint needs "recolored or corrected, that means...Sanding, primer, repaint, clear coat.

These Buzz Words are false.

I know I'm going to catch crap about this post, but I dont buy the term and that is not what is happening...Change my mind ?

Please keep it civil and this is a discussion !