Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 LT1 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Phastek Performance

Old 10-10-2021, 02:03 PM   #1
rcoe

Drives: 2016 Camaro SS
catch can smoking

Just picked up an new to me 2016 SS with built motor and D series pro charger.

Car was built by a local shop that specializes in LS and LT Gm cars and I talked with the head tech who built the engine and it was a top shelf build but they did it just over a year ago and the new owner was not really knowledgeable about the car. Car runs very strong, but I am getting exhaust odor in the cabin, not much but enough.

Now I am kinda new to these newer GM performance cars, Last one I had was a 2002 Firehawk with heads and cam.

So I start poking around under the hood looking for something that might be the cause and I notice the catch can is smoking a bit and the main line coming from the engine goes to a T fitting where none of the hoses have clamps on them and are pretty loose fitting.

So I take the can off and drain about half a cup of oil out, clean it up and put some clamps on the loose hoses hoping this will solve my odor issue. Well still have the odor and from what I have read this is pretty common with long tubes and cat deletes, but I also notice the catch can is still smoking out the top filter. This is at idle and with the engine not fully warmed up.

Is this normal? Or do I have an issue?

rcoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 01:00 PM   #2
ZeroZeta

Drives: 18 Camaro SS
Think you should check the hose routing. I have D series blower and same catch can as well. You will likely smell a small amount of oil - but this is due to the can venting out and only happens for me when going into boost. The smoking is completely not normal.