Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

Phastek Performance

Old 10-12-2016, 03:17 PM   #1
Teer

Drives: 2016 White 2SS - M6- MRC- NPP
Electronic Parking Brake

I'm a noob to the forums and also a noob to owning a Camaro. Purchased on October 8th, one of the best days of my life

I digress....

I've had a 5 speed Prelude for most of my adult life and it was always habit to engage the parking brake when parking the vehicle. I've had problems with the electronic parking brake so far in my M6 Camaro. Out of habit I press the parking brake button when I stop to park my car. The dash says it is engaged, all is good until I need to drive again.

When I get in my car I start it up the dash has the little "brake" light lit up. I remember it saying the brake will be disengaged when the car is started and the brake pedal is depressed. I press the depress the brake and the clutch to start the car but the light stays on. Here is the deal... In reverse (backing out of the garage) the thing will not disengage at all. I have to put it in first gear and roll forward a foot to get it to turn off, then i can reverse. Even when starting forward I can feel the E brake is still on because there is a slight grab as i start to move (noticeable compared to when i have left the e brake off).

Last night I was parked where I did not want to roll forward at all (parking curb in front of my bumper) so I put the car in reverse and tried to get the thing to disengage. Couple of slight throttle movements and i couldn't get it to turn off. Third try and I gave it a little more gas and then al of a sudden my car rev'd on it's own after I had let off the gas and engaged the clutch fully again. It was seriously odd..

Finally i just nudged the car forward a few inches and backed out.