Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 LT1 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Phastek Performance


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2022, 08:50 AM   #1
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
Question getting a code after installing lt2?

Hey guys Good morning, Im having some troubles after installing the lt2 intake. Im Getting a check engine light and two codes P0171, and P0172
I transferred all rings from the lt1 intake and made sure they are all snug, the maf sensor is clean. the lt2 has been torqued to spec and also would like to note that i did do a flex fuel kit install with an e85 tune the same time i installed the lt2, so i did them all at once. these are all the mods i have done so far. the car drives fine shifts normal, i didnt fine any leaks when i did a carb test. any pointers would be great, thank you guys!

Last edited by ApollosChevy; 05-31-2022 at 12:15 PM.
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2022, 09:40 AM   #2
ctrlz


 
Drives: 2017 2SS, 50th pkg, M6, MRC, NPP
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ocean City, NJ
Posts: 2,269
More leak codes.
recently someone posted similar problem with a blower. Turned out bolts were a bit too long and bottoming out. I wonder if LT2 has the same issue. Check thickness of new manifold compared to stock at point where the bolt goes through. If LT2 is thinner there you can either use shorter bolts or pad with washers up top.
ctrlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2022, 10:05 AM   #3
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
good idea, i will check that out. i ordered new rings to see if that might help. going to take it off and put it back on saturday hopefully these annoying ass codes go away
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 09:42 AM   #4
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
Update: I put 93 yesterday and the CEL went away, does anyone think i might have had a bad tuner workin on my car? im getting it remote tuned now from a reputable tuner in texas, this saturday i will still remove and install the lt2 just to make sure its snug.
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 09:48 AM   #5
ctrlz


 
Drives: 2017 2SS, 50th pkg, M6, MRC, NPP
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ocean City, NJ
Posts: 2,269
The CEL may have cleared, yet there may be "pending" codes.
Some of these events need to be logged so many times within a set time period before ECM will post a CEL.

In your situation, good idea to hook up a scanner to check for pending codes. I would also look at fuel trims.

I am personally not a believer in switching gas to clear codes. If the car is throwing codes, there is probably a real problem that can't be solved only by switching gas.
ctrlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 10:00 AM   #6
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
your right, i hooked up the scanner and its still showing pending codes p0171 p0174. man im scared to drive the car now. my tuner wont be available till june 10th
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 10:43 AM   #7
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
do you know if the car would start if the maf sensor is not connected? because it doesnt click when i plugged it in. pushed it in as far as i can and zip tied it
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 10:51 AM   #8
ctrlz


 
Drives: 2017 2SS, 50th pkg, M6, MRC, NPP
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ocean City, NJ
Posts: 2,269
I think with no MAF connected either the car won't start or you'll get a flashing CEL and the car will go into limp mode.

I think this car is safe to drive since you do not have a flashing CEL. I would only use it for essential trips and baby it until you get things sorted. No hard accelerations. Drive it like a granny!
ctrlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 11:33 AM   #9
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
you got it, thanks man, do you happen to know if this is the right sequence ?

https://ls1howto.com/howto/geniii/in...//IMAGE017.jpg

Last edited by ApollosChevy; 06-01-2022 at 12:53 PM.
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2022, 09:05 AM   #10
ApollosChevy
 
Drives: 2021 Camaro LT1 A10
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Macomb, Michigan
Posts: 16
turns out the first tuner i took it to didnt tune it correctly for e85, and it was running extremely lean. got it retuned and no more codes
ApollosChevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2022, 08:53 AM   #11
laynlo15
 
laynlo15's Avatar
 
Drives: 2022 Lt1 A10
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: clark, mo
Posts: 7,478
That's good to hear.
__________________
2022 Lt1 6.2 A10, Phastek, E85, Rotofab,Lt2 Ported IM/95mmTB, toohighpsi, SCOL , phdtuning-11.64/121-
Maggie coming very soon, Port Inj, 10 rib &other stuff
16SS w/2650 9.41@147, 16 C7 10.90@128
laynlo15 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.