Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 12-25-2012, 10:26 PM   #1
KaBoom1701
KaBoom1701

Drives: 13' ZL1 Red M6
Exclamation TapShift!

Ok, so I'm a noob at this!

How, when and where with this TapShift thing?

I just crossed the 3K mark on my card so now I'm not so scared to mess with hard shifting the tranny a bit. Been racing around town in auto and now I'd like to explore this TapShift thing...

When should I use this mode. How to use it? Shifting at what RPMs' and in what gear. From what I've read around here the tras seems to shift itself when you hit high rpms....I think?

Any help / info would be great.

KaBoom
KaBoom1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:39 PM   #2
SimpleGreen

Drives: 2015 2SS/RS
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaBoom1701 View Post

I just crossed the 3K mark on my card so now I'm not so scared to mess with hard shifting the tranny a bit. Been racing around town in auto and now I'd like to explore this TapShift thing...

When should I use this mode. How to use it? Shifting at what RPMs' and in what gear. From what I've read around here the tras seems to shift itself when you hit high rpms....I think?

KaBoom
Use it whenever you want, however you want. It's really that simple. The factory programming in the car will keep you from hurting it. It won't let you down shift if it predicts that the RPM will not be safe. I believe it will also shift itself to the next gear if you are twisting the engine too hard.