Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V6 LGX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

AWE Tuning

Old 09-27-2023, 06:59 PM   #1
NiickySaz

Drives: 2023 Camaro 1LT V6
Bumping up compression to 12.1

Can it be done? I'm trying to find a reasonable dealer who sells 100 octane at a reasonable price/shipping. I don't want to go crazy with the timing.
NiickySaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2023, 07:05 PM   #2
Gen6cyl

Drives: Chevy Camaro 2021 ,rs, v6, manual
And raise red line to about 7,800 and maybe bigger cams.
Old 09-28-2023, 12:48 PM   #3
Roostie
all it takes is cash

Drives: 2018 LS V6 1LE; E350 wagon; Model3
I'm not an expert on engines, so take this with a pinch of salt. To change the compression ratio, you would need new pistons. I don't know if any piston maker is making 12 to 1 pistons for the LGX; if not, you may need an expensive custom set of pistons. Installing pistons requires an engine build. Huge job. Every point of compression buys you about 7% added power. Going from stock 11.5 to 12 to 1 compression will get you perhaps 3 to 4% more power. Not worth the cost, by a long stretch. Perhaps you were just thinking about a custom tune to advance the timing and get a few more hp? You can do that on 93 octane and not need ridiculous, impractical 100 octane.

Best solution if you have money burning a hole in your pocket is to sell your V6 and get an SS. Better yet, enjoy your V6 Camaro as it is, and pay yourself by saving/investing the money, instead of throwing it at aftermarket stuff for the V6 which is likely to be a fool's errand.
Roostie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2023, 01:18 PM   #4
NiickySaz

Drives: 2023 Camaro 1LT V6
Yea just trying to work a tune around it, but even then I was just informed it may not even be worth it. Case closed!
NiickySaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2023, 02:31 PM   #5
Gen6cyl