Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Specific Packages / Variants > 6th gen Camaro 1LE

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 05-17-2019, 06:39 PM   #1
Calubi

Drives: 2017 1SS 1LE
SS 1LE -> ZL1: Do you notice the extra weight?

Has anyone here gone from an SS 1LE to a ZL1? I've been seriously considering going from an SS 1LE to a ZL1 A10 (non-1LE), but I'm a bit concerned about the extra weight. The curb weight seems to be about 300 lbs heavily. Do you "feel" the extra weight in daily driving and on track? Or is it as nimble as the SS 1LE?
Old 05-17-2019, 11:25 PM   #2
TRZ06

Drives: 22' Porsche PDK GT4
I have no first hand experience, but I have read here in random threads that the ZL1 is a little less nimble with a little less aggressive front turn-in/grip because all that extra weight is over the front axle.

Previous:
18' NFG 2SS 1LE (ZL1 1LE solid rear cradle bushings & Corsa Exhaust)
16' F80 M3 (Ohlin R/T Coilovers)
13' Audi TTRS (APR Stage 1, MSS Springs)
09' C6 Z06
08' E90 M3
06' 335i (KW V2 Coilovers)
03' C5 Z06
TRZ06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 10:37 PM   #3
MatthewAMEL

Drives: 2023 CT5 Blackwing
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRZ06 View Post
I have no first hand experience, but I have read here in random threads that the ZL1 is a little less nimble with a little less aggressive front turn-in/grip because all that extra weight is over the front axle.

Agreed. Not very noticeable on a road course...can be a BIG difference at AutoX.

2023 Wave Metallic
CT5-V Blackwing M6
MatthewAMEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 09:38 AM   #4
Osbornsm

Drives: 2018 SS 1LE
I'm going to go ahead and wager a guess that any appreciable weight gain will be offset by the additional 200 ft/lbs.

Mods: Rotofab, Nick Williams 103mm TB, MSD IM, Kooks 1 7/8
Results: 470 hp / 447 tq
Osbornsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 12:50 PM   #5
TRZ06

Quote: