Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

Bigwormgraphix

Old 07-17-2019, 02:10 PM   #1
PnCRedJwl2SS
Howdy! Pete here...

Drives: 2017 50th Anniv 2SS, A8, NPP, MRC
Need help/advice...recurring brake vibration!

Okay, looking for some help or advice. I have taken my car in for brake work at the dealership twice now because of vibration that I felt through the pedal and steering column. Stock 2SS Brembo setup.

They have replaced the rotors, telling me that they were warped. I've been driving Camaros since 1983 and do not brake hard enough to warp them, so I already have my doubts. They also replaced my brake pads.

I now go even more out of my way to baby the brakes when stopping. I also wait at least 15 to 20 minutes after stopping the car before running through any touchless car wash that sprays the wheels. Not sure what else I can do to avoid warping of the rotors, if that's what's happening.

Usually within three to four weeks after the repair, I end up with the vibration again. Is this likely a caliper issue? Any other ideas?

PnCRedJwl2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 02:07 PM   #2
PnCRedJwl2SS
Howdy! Pete here...

Anyone else having this issue?

Old 07-19-2019, 02:12 PM   #3
len_eng

Drives: 2024 Radiant Red 2SS, 1994 Z28,
I just had the same issue with my 2018 2SS. I have over 40K miles and there was a vibration from when braking from 70 mph. They turned all the rotors. For the amount I paid I should have bought four new ones from Rockauto and replaced the pads with ceramics so I wouldn't have to deal with the brake dut.
len_eng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:10 PM   #4
TJay74

Drives: 17 Camaro SS 1LE & 16 Sierra AT CC
GM covers the rotors and pads for 1yr or 7500 miles. If you are in that time frame I would make the dealer handle it.