Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Bigwormgraphix

Old 12-21-2017, 07:46 PM   #1
Dubchitts

Drives: '17 Red hot 2ss, 16 Focus RS
Cam install

This write up is intended only to show my process. There are more than one way to do things, and sometimes different ideas help. Im not going to include every little detail,(engine cover removal and every sensor that you disconnect, or every little bolt) I am not a certified mechanic.* This is not a follow along for those with no mechanical experience! Proceed at your own risk!

Thank you to Pray for helping with any questions ive had during this. Also some pics are borrowed from Hurst. If there is a problem with this please PM me and I will remove them ASAP.

This is in Progress atm, so this is subject to change as I finnish up. I will hog the first 4 posts in case I hit a character limit!

Parts/materials
-Anti sieze
-Assembly lube
-Brake cleaner
-8 new flywheel bolts. PN/12563485
-6 new pressure plate bolts. PN/12561465
-10 qts break in oil
-Gm rtv engine sealant
-Oil filter
-Penetrating oil
-Prefered brake fluid (m6)
-Scotch brite pads
-Shop rags
-Thread locker
-Water pump gaskets PN/ 12657430
********************** tools
1-2 helpers
*Access to a hoist
OR
**2 floor jacks, and jack pad
** at least 2 jack stands
**wheel chocks
-5mm shallow
-6mm Allen head socket* (1/4" drive)
-8mm shallow
-10mm deep & shallow
-13mm deep & shallow
-13mm Allen socket
-15mm deep & shallow
-17mm shallow
-18mm shallow and wrench
-22mm shallow
-24mm impact socket
-T25 Torx bit/driver
-T40 Torx
-T50 Torx
-3/8 fuel line disconnect tool
-1/4", 3/8", 1/2" ratchets
-3/8 and 1/2" breaker bars
-3/8 wobble adapters
-Center punch (fairly big)
-Clutch alignment tool (katech has one for $5 under the c6 section)
-Drain pans
-Engine hoist
-Engine stand
-Extensions -various
-Hammer/small mallet
-Harmonic balancer removal kit