Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > ZL1 Discussions


AWE Tuning


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2018, 10:28 AM   #15
Hellobatman
 
Hellobatman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Ford F250, 2019 Lincoln Navi
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricco View Post
I assume Vengeance tuned your TCM?
Yes, had to be overnighted to HP to be unlocked.
__________________
Instagram: MattZ_L1 Vengeance Racing Built
Hellobatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 10:29 AM   #16
mlee
CamaroFans.com
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2019 Crush ZLE
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 36,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by drfeelgood View Post
nope, not upset at all. yes, you mentioned ECM, I never did.. the TCM doesn't HAVE to be unlocked, but there are plenty of reports of how the car drives regarding shift points without modifications. You know this already though, and you know that any of the reputable shops are going to tell hm to send the TCM in
Yes, I mentioned ECM because that is where the tuning needs to be. No reputable shop is going to sell an A10 trans tune for a mid 600 hp car without a bunch of track time. It's just a complete waste of $$ at that point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zackf80m View Post
I've spoken to Vengeance and a few other reputable tuners and they all say under 800 whp a TCM isn't necessarily needed. That being said I'm around low-mid 700 whp range and I'm going to unlock and send out my TCM for tuning shortly.
^^^This
__________________
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 05:36 PM   #17
big dave

 
Drives: 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt1z350 View Post
Some of you that dont do any of your own tuning Im going to tell you that on a few bolt ons and e30-60 your going to have to get the tcm tuned to get off the torque limit in the tune. I have 2 inch headers full exhaust on e50 weapon x heat exchangers weapon x stage two 5 inch cold air and a 9.55 lower on the car now and its still closing the throttle some on matter what I do to this tune. I have two manual cars that are on similar bolt ons and no throttle problems or boost issues at all. Mine in the log when says predicted torque source it has trans up so using trans limits to set the throttle. The car on 72 percent throttle and 12 lbs ****ing flys but watching the log I know its not all it could be so now going to just send it off. I will say I was smart enough when I had the nose off doing my heat exchangers to move the tcm from off the front frame to up next to ecm. Now its easily accessed as I knew at some point it was going to go off to get done. Just didnt think I was going to be up on it already on these mods.
I can't wait to hear just how well you car responds from the TCM tune. If you can beat your previous best now that the summer's here, it's gonna fly when the good air comes back.
__________________
'17 ZL1 10.99@129 stock. 4225# raceweight. Best 60'- 1.66 on factory tires. 10.48@125 E50, intake and tune. 4270 lbs
https://youtu.be/EyHtdH9XOkY
https://youtu.be/Lcu41obbTf8
'13 ZL1 BRM A6. 11.591 @ 119.2 factory stock with a 1.68 60'! Best stock mph 121.8. 11.29 @ 123 RotoFab, drag radials and skinnies. 4360# raceweight.
http://youtu.be/yggIA3C_kkA 2014... back to stock
http://youtu.be/spQLaTWbThs 2013... stock & RotoFab
big dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 04:31 PM   #18
17CamaroZL1
Life's Short, Live Fast!
 
17CamaroZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Hyper Blue A10 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: London, KY
Posts: 2,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt1z350 View Post
Some of you that dont do any of your own tuning Im going to tell you that on a few bolt ons and e30-60 your going to have to get the tcm tuned to get off the torque limit in the tune. I have 2 inch headers full exhaust on e50 weapon x heat exchangers weapon x stage two 5 inch cold air and a 9.55 lower on the car now and its still closing the throttle some on matter what I do to this tune. I have two manual cars that are on similar bolt ons and no throttle problems or boost issues at all. Mine in the log when says predicted torque source it has trans up so using trans limits to set the throttle. The car on 72 percent throttle and 12 lbs ****ing flys but watching the log I know its not all it could be so now going to just send it off. I will say I was smart enough when I had the nose off doing my heat exchangers to move the tcm from off the front frame to up next to ecm. Now its easily accessed as I knew at some point it was going to go off to get done. Just didnt think I was going to be up on it already on these mods.
Have you had it on the strip with your current setup? It should be really quick as is, but I'm curious how much the trans tune helps. I would think there could be some slight gains made at stock power and even more as the power level increases.
__________________
Life's Short, Live Fast! https://youtu.be/rTUv2p4T7OA 10.94 at 128 mph, 11.13 at 127mph 870 DA, https://youtu.be/e_X_LcpFp50 11.19 at 127mph 1100 DA, https://youtu.be/OXQiCQdQuH4 11.40 at 125mph 1800 DA
https://youtu.be/uWba1qs8M6Q 11.52 at 123mph 3500 DA
TZQPHG '17 ZL1 HBM|A10|Nav|PDR|CFW Hood|ZL1 Mats

12/26/2016 Ordered!
2/8/2017 Built!!
3/2/2017 Brought Home!!!
17CamaroZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:43 AM   #19
MakCamaro
Makis
 
MakCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2020 Red Hot ZL1 A10
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: London - UK
Posts: 647
Thread resurrection. Good info.
__________________
Red Hot 2020 Camaro ZL1 A10 <-- Enjoying the hell out of it
Mosaic black 2018 Camaro 2SS A8 (sold)
MakCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 04:44 AM   #20
Bangkok_ZL1
ZL1 Believer
 
Bangkok_ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2019 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakCamaro View Post
Thread resurrection. Good info.
Yes it is
Bangkok_ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 05:21 AM   #21
Corey7519
 
Drives: 2018 ZL1 A10
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: IL
Posts: 18
The TCM and ECM talk to each other constantly. As you add more torque which is what will happen with those mods - the TCM will will tell the ECM there is too much torque under throttle and pull timing limiting the torque to factory set perameters. The TCM needs to be told that yes added torque is ok then the ECM wont pull timing and your torque curve on your dyno sheet will be a thing of beauty. So yes you need to tune the TCM.
Corey7519 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.