Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Specific Packages / Variants > 6th gen Camaro 1LE

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 09-12-2020, 09:32 AM   #1
Padge23

Drives: 2019 Camaro 1SS 1LE, Riverside Blue
'Racing Brake' rotors do not live up to their name

As much as I try not to be a guinea pig, I'm pretty sure I was in this case. So as a word of warning, I strongly advise against Racing Brake rotors for track use. My front rotors lasted exactly 8 track days and 1,873 total miles (approx 40% track) before structural cracking (see pics). Not what you'd expect from a set of $1,500 rotors from a company named Racing Brake. The company has been radio silent concerning my repeated complaints, and they were very responsive on the front end. I'm left to assume they know their products are inferior and do not stand behind them. Live and learn.

I'm an intermediate level HPDE driver, still running stock GY3 tires and Raybestos ST-43 pads (funny I changed the pads at the same time as the rotors and the pads still have a couple more track days on them).
Attached Images

PDR, CAI intake, Kooks headers & exhaust, AP Racing front big brake kit, DSC Sport RT coil-over kit & suspension controller, G-Force driveshaft, Braile battery, Anderson Composites deck lid, CMS Roll Bar, Schroth ASM Harnesses, BMR rear cradle lock out, ZL1 front lower control arms, SLP rear toe rods, ACS ZL1 Side Skirts, Apex 19x11" wheels.
Padge23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 11:46 AM   #2
TRZ06

Drives: 22' Porsche PDK GT4
Question...

Why did you feel the need to change out your brakes in the first place. The SS 1LE already comes with very stout 6 piston Brembo brakes.

I can see maybe a pad change, but really this car pretty much has racing brakes off the showroom floor.

Previous:
18' NFG 2SS 1LE (ZL1 1LE solid rear cradle bushings & Corsa Exhaust)
16' F80 M3 (Ohlin R/T Coilovers)