Homepage Garage Wiki Register Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics


BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2020, 12:15 AM   #1
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
HP Tuners Prep for MAF and SD

Hey all,
Learning to tune my'17 ZL1.
Been switching back and forth trying to tune MAF and speed density but having issues getting consistent numbers when logging. I set everything up as shown in videos from goatrope garage/tuning101.com, slowly and step by step so I don't miss anything but noticed during MAF logging I get lean spikes when shifting, so I wonder if clutch fuel cutoff is still kicking in. The drive feels much better on my speed density tune but with what I'm seeing during my MAF runs I want to make sure I don't have the same issue bleeding over.
Also, I'm unable to disable closed loop by changing o2 readiness voltage or closed loop delay time do any tips there would be appreciated. Right now I disable closed loop through the scanner but it turns itself back on on occasion.
I guess ultimately my question is what do you guys tune in preparation for MAF and speed density logging and tuning?
Also looking for any and all resources to learn from.
Appreciate any guidance!
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 07:57 AM   #2
Tschw
 
Drives: 16 HBM 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
Did you disable DFCO?
Tschw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 12:13 PM   #3
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tschw View Post
Did you disable DFCO?
Yes.
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 02:31 PM   #4
Tschw
 
Drives: 16 HBM 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3
My bad, I meant Clutch Fuel Cutoff CFCO. From what I've read, the CFCO overrides DFCO settings.
Tschw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 04:16 PM   #5
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tschw View Post
My bad, I meant Clutch Fuel Cutoff CFCO. From what I've read, the CFCO overrides DFCO settings.
I have both disabled but cfco seems to be activating during my MAF logging runs.

Edit:
Just did some tweaking and it doesn't look like it's happening during SD logging, just on MAF only. SD log has its own problems but this doesn't seem to be among them.

Last edited by jtblckmaro; 05-18-2020 at 08:51 PM.
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 09:26 PM   #6
BDPhoto519
 
BDPhoto519's Avatar
 
Drives: 2018 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 39
Yeah for some reason I cant get DFCO to fully disable and I have to manually disable LTFT's in the VCM Scanner itself as well.

Kind of annoying.
__________________
2018 Camaro 2SS A8 Redline Edition
BDPhoto519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 10:02 PM   #7
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDPhoto519 View Post
Yeah for some reason I cant get DFCO to fully disable and I have to manually disable LTFT's in the VCM Scanner itself as well.

Kind of annoying.
Very.
I've gotten it close by just keeping some pressure on the accelerator during shifts but still, would love to be able to get it done right.
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 10:19 PM   #8
steelheadrob
Tactical Garage
 
steelheadrob's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 428
I have collected tunes from various tuners accros the country, all I have seen are doing MAF only above 800rpms or so and disable VVE tuning above that. I run my car in MAF only with no issues. There are various methods to disable the DFCO, some mess the the RPM enable/disable, I just max out the ECT table. You might try that.

I recently have been posting up some videos on the tuning process I am using for my car. Maybe something in there that will help you. Good Luck.

steelheadrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 10:39 PM   #9
wookwook
 
wookwook's Avatar
 
Drives: 18 Camaro LS M6
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: NH
Posts: 605
Why is accepting the lean spike a problem? I read the thread and I could swear this sounds exactly like tuning on my LTG turbo 2 liter. And why bother with the Sd tables they would only be reference during warm up and your not racing or demanding TQ during warmup and between shifts. Why bother with SD, all you have to do is reset LTFT a few times after setting the MAF calibration. I have he same idea on a tuning channel for LTG when I can I will check that out.

Mini me.
W/
__________________
.
.
.

NFG M6 2T
*Mishimoto IC Pipe Kit | ZZP Catted DP | JacFab BOL | Borla - Sport Tour | Apex Arc 8 - square | *Wookster Tuning+ | XLR Throttle Tuner | *ZZP Big Wheel Turbo | *Snow 2.5 Boost Cooler

Last PB
4.8, 13.6@103
*New since last PB
wookwook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 11:28 AM   #10
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,442
There has been some chatter on HPTuners that running MAF and a lot of stock everything-else (save for some more radical combinations that need it) is a good way to go. There is even talk of leaving VVE and VVT stock unless your PIDs are showing running into those thresholds. It's a lot of learning...

Make sure you've turned off the temperature variables in your fueling, too. I don't have access to my HPTuners at the moment, but I recall some tables for temperature, among RPMs and such, that you might have to disable, too.

Check that you don't have any exhaust leaks ahead of or around your WB. That will show lean, too, if I recall.

Finally - make sure you update to the current versions in HPTuners. I just learned, that if you are running the older MPVI (which I am), to only run the BETA versions, as, I guess, that's what is compatible and most current. I, too, have been watching GoatRope and some of Tactical, and both are helpful. GR has a couple playlists that would be applicable to us, including the tuning he showcases on HIS truck. There are gems all over many of those videos. Make sure to catch his MAF-tuning from many months ago. It goes through set-up and driving, and changing. His videos help me a lot.
__________________

'20 ZL1 Black "Fury"
A10, PDR, Exposed CF Extractor
Magnuson Magnum DI TVS2650R / Diode Dynamics
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:16 PM   #11
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelheadrob View Post
I have collected tunes from various tuners accros the country, all I have seen are doing MAF only above 800rpms or so and disable VVE tuning above that. I run my car in MAF only with no issues. There are various methods to disable the DFCO, some mess the the RPM enable/disable, I just max out the ECT table. You might try that.

I recently have been posting up some videos on the tuning process I am using for my car. Maybe something in there that will help you. Good Luck.

Great videos man, thanks!
Applied some of your process and got my part throttle dialed in today 🤘
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:19 PM   #12
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by radz28 View Post
There has been some chatter on HPTuners that running MAF and a lot of stock everything-else (save for some more radical combinations that need it) is a good way to go. There is even talk of leaving VVE and VVT stock unless your PIDs are showing running into those thresholds. It's a lot of learning...

Make sure you've turned off the temperature variables in your fueling, too. I don't have access to my HPTuners at the moment, but I recall some tables for temperature, among RPMs and such, that you might have to disable, too.

Check that you don't have any exhaust leaks ahead of or around your WB. That will show lean, too, if I recall.

Finally - make sure you update to the current versions in HPTuners. I just learned, that if you are running the older MPVI (which I am), to only run the BETA versions, as, I guess, that's what is compatible and most current. I, too, have been watching GoatRope and some of Tactical, and both are helpful. GR has a couple playlists that would be applicable to us, including the tuning he showcases on HIS truck. There are gems all over many of those videos. Make sure to catch his MAF-tuning from many months ago. It goes through set-up and driving, and changing. His videos help me a lot.
I haven't seen those posts, I'll check it out. I'm subscribed to GRG on patreon and Kyle has been helping along the way.
If the temp variables you're talking about are the ivt gain tables and such, I've 1'ed all those out so no multipliers are throwing me off.
Good tips tho, appreciate the insight!
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:27 PM   #13
jtblckmaro
JtblckZ
 
jtblckmaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2017 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by wookwook View Post
Why is accepting the lean spike a problem? I read the thread and I could swear this sounds exactly like tuning on my LTG turbo 2 liter. And why bother with the Sd tables they would only be reference during warm up and your not racing or demanding TQ during warmup and between shifts. Why bother with SD, all you have to do is reset LTFT a few times after setting the MAF calibration. I have he same idea on a tuning channel for LTG when I can I will check that out.

Mini me.
W/

I'm learning to tune, so not leaving anything undone. If I accept a lean spike that can be tuned out then it just doesn't seem like I finished the job. Same with the SD part, if it gets referenced anywhere at any time, I'll tune it properly best I can. Maybe I'm going overboard but like I said, learning to tune so don't know enough to disregard any part of the process yet
jtblckmaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.