Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Road Course/Track and Autocross

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 04-10-2017, 12:58 PM   #1
Alpha1BC

Drives: 2017 1SS 1LE
DOT4 Brake fluid change for track use

Hi everyone,

For changing brake fluid to DOT4 for the track, is it detrimental to leave the current DOT3 fluid in the ABS lines?

I'm new to track days, and was wondering if any of the more experienced people on the forum have any knowledge on this. I know mixing the 3 and 4 will have an overall lower boiling point, but wasn't sure if there's enough DOT3 in the ABS lines to make it necessary to get all the old fluid out prior to the track. Seems like it's a pain to try to trigger ABS while bleeding, and I don't have easy access to the service tool to open the valves via the OBD port.

I'm still under 10k miles and no heavy brake use yet (I don't even think I've triggered ABS), so not too concerned about the quality of the current fluid in the system. I'm also planning to do another flush part way through the year or before I store it for the winter after I've gotten into ABS and mixed the fluid, but if any of you have bad experiences with boiling your fluid after mixing like this I'm curious to hear about it!
Old 04-10-2017, 01:40 PM   #2
Nate...

Drives: 2016 Camaro LTG
I'm interested in this as well. Wondering if I need to go to the dealer to actuate the ABS or if it will be sufficient to bleed and fill with the DOT 4 at home.
Old 04-10-2017, 05:52 PM   #3
glamcem

Drives: '19 RivrsdBlu 1LE ('17 1LE HB sold)
how do you bleed the brakes? Why do you need to trigger the ABS while bleeding? Is this because you don't leave enough brake fluid in the reservoir? If so, you might need a bench bleeding if you trap an air in the system.