Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics

Phastek Performance

Old 01-14-2024, 09:02 PM   #1
FactoryMatt

Drives: '22 2SS 1LE
The Man speaks on street E85 reliability

sludge @ 4m

&fs=1"> &fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="855" height="505">
FactoryMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 08:37 AM   #2
KingLT1

Drives: 2016 1SS NFG A8
That video is misleading... The sludge is from lack of maintenance and or the engine not getting up to operating temperature to burn off moisture. He claims 2000 miles the oil was changed but I don't believe it. Oil doesn't get that nasty in a healthy engine if changed every 2000 miles. I have been running E85 since 2017 and my engine nor any other engine I have seen looks like that after extended E85 use.
Per. times- 10.5 @ 137 w/ 1.8 60ft Full weight on 20's 1200DA
KingLT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 10:42 AM   #3
radz28
Petro-sexual

Drives: Ultra-Grin
I'm fairly certain that the OEMs wouldn't be supporting E85 in some of their products if there was a plague of problems as this thread seems to imply.

'20 ZL1 Black "Fury"
A10, PDR, Exposed CF Extractor
Magnuson Magnum DI TVS2650R // RFBG // Soler 103 // TooHighPSI Port Injection // THPSI Billet Lid // FF // Katech Drop-In // PLM Heat Exchanger // ZLE Cradle bushings // BMR Chassis-Suspension Stuff // aFe Bars // Diode Dynamics LEDs // ACS Composites Guards // CF Dash // Aeroforce // tint // other stuffs
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 11:23 AM   #4
Mark114

Drives: 2016 2SS Convertible
At the beginning of the video he mentions that they used an oil additive, but never said which additive they used. I wonder if the additive caused or contributed to the sludge.
Mark114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 11:30 AM   #5
Martinjlm
Retired from GM