Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > Member Car Journals

Phastek Performance

Old 07-29-2022, 08:43 AM   #1
Katech_Zach

Drives: 14 Camaro SS 1LE
Post 8000 RPM LT4, inside a Katech powered ZL1

Good Morning everyone and happy friday! My name is Zach and I am an engineer over at Katech in Clinton Township, MI. If you don't know who Katech is, we are one of the premier performance engine and vehicle builders that have been in the industry for more than 40 years. Our roots are deep with Corvette Racing, a majority of our innovation comes from our experience developing race engines with GM.

I am in the engineering department and also do a lot of work with our vehicle shop. My goal when working with customers is to make sure they understand the type of package they are getting into, and it meets all of their expectations upon pickup.

With that said, we do a lot of cool development work in the shadows to ensure we are competing with the best of the best in this exponentially growing industry. I purchased a 2018 ZL1 1LE personally with the original goal to make it our version of a gen 6 Z/28. Take the LT4 out, put a dry-sumped naturally aspirated 427 in, and let it rip on the track. After driving the supercharged motor on track and overlaying some dyno data between a few of our engine packages, I determined that I will save that project for another vehicle because this car had to stay with a supercharged engine.

I set the new goal to develop a high-rpm package with a relatively stock engine that could be used for multiple applications. The new target was making 800whp at 8000 RPM. In this thread, I plan on posting the engineering behind what it takes to do something like this, the contents of this package, and the results it produced.