Homepage Garage Wiki Register Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics


Phastek Performance


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2022, 07:06 AM   #1
Wintermute
 
Wintermute's Avatar
 
Drives: 2020 LT1
Join Date: May 2020
Location: WA
Posts: 65
Can someone explain hptuners process to me?

I mean, I get the basic nuts and bolts of it. I buy their obdii interface, hook it up to my cars port + wideband and create a data log. I guess then I find a remote tuner to hook me up with a tune and then flash it to the car? Do I need a laptop somewhere in there? Seems like newest interface from HPT saves the log to the device itself, which has Bluetooth. Do I need to wire my wideband to the obdii device? My AEM sensor came with an obd passthrough that supposedly can feed AFR data? I've looked on YouTube and most of the tutorials are just on how to make a data log. If anyone could fill me in on the details, I would appreciate it.
__________________
Too weird to live, too rare to die.
Wintermute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2022, 08:48 AM   #2
dmcmahan60
 
dmcmahan60's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 SS
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Arab, AL
Posts: 645
My understanding is you would have to have a laptop to run the HPTuners software to data log, tune and flash the new tune from the tuner you use. I would ask HPTuners or I know some of the peeps like King will step in and give the answer you need.
dmcmahan60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2022, 09:47 AM   #3
SOCAL.M6.ZLE
Having FUN in the SUN...
 
SOCAL.M6.ZLE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2022 M6 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wintermute View Post
I mean, I get the basic nuts and bolts of it. I buy their obdii interface, hook it up to my cars port + wideband and create a data log. I guess then I find a remote tuner to hook me up with a tune and then flash it to the car? Do I need a laptop somewhere in there? Seems like newest interface from HPT saves the log to the device itself, which has Bluetooth. Do I need to wire my wideband to the obdii device? My AEM sensor came with an obd passthrough that supposedly can feed AFR data? I've looked on YouTube and most of the tutorials are just on how to make a data log. If anyone could fill me in on the details, I would appreciate it.

You got it, and YES, you will need a laptop.

Ted @ JRE did my remote street tuning.
It does take some time... I would say it took 5-6 data log sessions (a few of them were my fault in not having the proper AFR selected) when he tuned my 125 flex fuel package.

Overall the process was not hard, but it does take time.
Once you send the data log (need to follow his instructions perfectly) he would send back an updated file either the same day, or the next morning. Then when i had time, i would re-flash, and record another data log... a few a few adjustments the car is done.

It is a great resource for those who do not have access to a reputable local tuner.
__________________
CURRENT MISTRESS : 2022 M6 ZL1 1LE (2,250 miles)

GO FAST GOODIES : Katech CNC Ported Blower + Heads + 103mm TB + Oil Pump + C5R Chain + Valve Covers + Coil Relocation Kit
TSP Cast VVT and DoD Covers + LME Chain Guide + DSX Billet Lid + ATI Damper + 9.17" + 2.4" Pulleys + MM Wild CC + ARH + HF Cats
AWE Touring + Magnaflow Center X + E85 Flexlink + MSD Coils + Cables + Banks iDash + JMS Booster + DMS HX + Synergy Fender Tank
BMR Motor Mounts + ALL the RED Rear End BMR Goodies + JRE Terminator Cam Package + Remote Tune and Moral Support from TED @ JRE
SOCAL.M6.ZLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2022, 02:18 PM   #4
Trochoidal

 
Drives: 2017 Camaro 2SS A8
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wintermute View Post
I mean, I get the basic nuts and bolts of it. I buy their obdii interface, hook it up to my cars port + wideband and create a data log. I guess then I find a remote tuner to hook me up with a tune and then flash it to the car? Do I need a laptop somewhere in there? Seems like newest interface from HPT saves the log to the device itself, which has Bluetooth. Do I need to wire my wideband to the obdii device? My AEM sensor came with an obd passthrough that supposedly can feed AFR data? I've looked on YouTube and most of the tutorials are just on how to make a data log. If anyone could fill me in on the details, I would appreciate it.
The only “wiring” you’ll need is to get power to your gauge, run wire from WB to gauge and plug in your pass through to your OBDII port. You’ll have to setup the gauge later in HPT.
__________________
Roto-Fab w/sound tube delete, Katech ported TB, Pray IM, Velossa, DD side markers, DSX FF, UPR Catch can, Halo brace, My custom vent gauge pod
Trochoidal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.