Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics

Phastek Performance

Old 04-09-2018, 11:51 AM   #1
11bravoss

Drives: 2018 ZL1
Remote tuning

Can get some help on better understanding remote tuning? I've searched some and everything seems to get off track and confusing. I'm mostly interested in HPT and what exactly I need to get a remote tune and how it works? I know on a dyno tune AFR is closely watched, so do I have to get a AFR gauge as well? Also how does the whole process work, I drive some and send in the file and the tuner ma les adjustments? I know total amateur questions here, but I'm completely new to remote tuning.
11bravoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 12:06 PM   #2
danhr
BAMF SS

Drives: 2016 Camaro 1SS A8
Send a message via AIM to danhr
There's a lot of different ways. Each tuner does it a little different, but the most common way is:

1)purchase HP tuners and unlock your car on it (the person/company who will be doing your remote tuning might sell it, in which they probably offer a package deal of "buy HP tuners from us and get remote tuning at a discounted price."

2).(optional) depending on your setup, they might send you a "baseline" tune, that will get you in the ball park of where you need to be.

3). You schedule some Dyno time, at a local Dyno. Usually an hour suffices, unless it is a complicated setup. Obviously you want to coordinate this time/date with the person who is remote tuning your car, as they need to be available too

4). You go to above mentioned Dyno at the time and date, and make a few pulls. Some tuners have the ability to adjust the parameters remotely, some will just tell you to change certain cells for them.

5) rinse lather and repeat step 4 until everything is dialed in.