Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Bigwormgraphix

Old 10-23-2019, 11:25 AM   #1
greg0ry

Drives: 2019 Camaro SS 1LE
How often should I do oil/diff/tran fluid changes?

I don't track! Lol. Is it weird that I have 10% oil left after 5K miles? Also, like the title says.. how often should I change my oil, diff and transmission fluids? Are there any other fluids I should be changing at certain points besides these 3? I'm new to all this, learning.. don't judge too hard! lol. Thank you.
greg0ry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:51 AM   #2
Osbornsm

Drives: 2018 SS 1LE
Well... the paranoid people on here will tell you to swap all your fluids at 1500 miles.

This is most likely figured in to the OIL LIFE meter you are reading.

Otherwise, Full Synthetic... and every 5000 miles.

Mods: Rotofab, Nick Williams 103mm TB, MSD IM, Kooks 1 7/8
Results: 470 hp / 447 tq
Osbornsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:31 PM   #3
kropscamaro16

Drives: 2016 1ss camaro
i did my first oil change at 1500 miles then 5000 miles and did the rear diff flush at 5000 miles also

as for oil changes i dont drive much so maybe once or twice a year and should probably do my rear diff flush again soon

also changed the cabin filter twice now or every 2 years and done my brake fluid every 2 years
Old 10-23-2019, 12:40 PM   #4
Nick S

Drives: 2013 Camaro 1LE
I look at it like this. Ask yourself these two questions:

1. How many hours of testing and development research has GM done on the LT1 engine and oil life intervals?
2. How many hours of testing have any of the people responding to this question performed on oil life intervals in the LT1?

Which ever one of those questions has the highest number of hours of testing is the one you should listen to for your oil change interval recommendations.