Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction Discussions

Phastek Performance

Old 10-09-2023, 07:34 AM   #1
radz28
Petro-sexual

Drives: Ultra-Grin
Smaller Upper = More Fueling and Advice on Cam Timing?

I've been playing with an 85mm upper, with no other changes, and am trying to figure out some inconsistencies I'm wondering if anyone else has seen or has thoughts they could share on...

Just a quick recap on the combo': stock exhaust & long block, 2650, 103 TB/ snout, RFBG, bigger H.E., port injection, and stock lower with a switch from a 90mm upper to an 85mm

I started playing with this little pulley upgrade, and am seeing fueling inconsistencies at WOT. I knew I'd need to watch for more fueling, but I thought it would, mostly, be at the top of the MAF CURVE. I did make some FUEL PUMP changes to try to control the initial pressure spike ([6970] BASE FUEL PUMP DUTY CYCLE) when the DSX LOW SIDE kicks in, but they were really small changes, and LSFP never came below anything close to 70-psi. The HSFP/LSFP was fine on my first test drive, though I was a little lean as I came to redline. The MAF showed only a couple percent LEAN of commanded, so I only really added that few percent toward the top end of the MAF curve. Then - on a day 12-degrees cooler (cooler day was about 76*), a little fatter MAF at the top end of the scale, my IPW went completely nuts, but starting as low as around 2800RPMs (16ms and 620psi) and was completely bonkers through 6500RPMs (9ms and 1400psi), where it was working back toward commanded, but was still way higher than the 5.1ms and 2900psi (and what I've been consistently seeing) I was seeing from the warmer day. RAIL PRESSURE/IPW dropped and was stupid high on the cooler day, and was very confusing. I didn't really change my PORT INJECTION MAF CURVE, so I didn't shift fueling from DI to PI, or vise versa.