Homepage Garage Wiki Register Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics


Bigwormgraphix


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2019, 02:51 PM   #1
PsyCoe
 
Drives: 2018 Camaro SS - Mosaic Black
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Athens, OH
Posts: 48
Tuning ECM Without Unlocking TCM

I reached out to HP Tuners about this but haven't gotten a response. Can I tune my ECM without unlocking my TCM? I have 2018 A8 and know the TCM is locked, but to my understanding the ECM is unlocked. Installed a DSX Flex fuel sensor the other night and am looking at different tuning options, would rather not have to ship out / buy a new TCM if possible. Thanks!
PsyCoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 03:35 PM   #2
Move'n Up
 
Move'n Up's Avatar
 
Drives: 17 Z06/Z07, 17 2SS Fifty, Ram 2500
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 206
Pretty sure the ECM is also locked on your '18.
__________________
Build Date 8/1/2016 1,109 out of 5,982| Club F1FTY
Move'n Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 03:39 PM   #3
cooper1965
-------:---:-------
 
cooper1965's Avatar
 
Drives: 18 Flex Fuel LTG
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: St. Louis/Sullivan/Washington MO
Posts: 790
You can tune your PCM only, you do not have to tune the TCM. You do not need to sent the PCM in for unlocking. When you decide to tune your TCM, it will need to be unlocked, or you can buy an unlocked unit from HPT. You will still have to buy credits for your TCM, even after unlocking to tune it.
__________________
Flex Fuel tuned by me using HPT-:-LSD Swap-:-JacFab Valve-:-Catless DP


---My Build Thread---
-----My IG PAGe-----
cooper1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 07:54 AM   #4
DSX Tuning
 
Drives: 2018 Colorado ZR2/2019 Corvette ZR1
Join Date: May 2017
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper1965 View Post
You can tune your PCM only, you do not have to tune the TCM. You do not need to sent the PCM in for unlocking. When you decide to tune your TCM, it will need to be unlocked, or you can buy an unlocked unit from HPT. You will still have to buy credits for your TCM, even after unlocking to tune it.
This post is accurate. To add to it just a little, your ECM will cost four credits to tune. If you decide to tune the TCM, you'll need it unlocked ($200) on top of four credits for that module as well.
DSX Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 08:38 AM   #5
PsyCoe
 
Drives: 2018 Camaro SS - Mosaic Black
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Athens, OH
Posts: 48
Thanks for the replies. I'm looking to get into tuning so I will start with the ECM. Good to know I dont have to send it in for unlocking as well.
PsyCoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 01:49 PM   #6
meSSohappy

 
meSSohappy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2018 ZL1 A10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1,370
How does one unlock the TCM? I have HPT and custom tunes, but my TCM overrides the STAB and reduces timing when I hit the gas at the drag strip. Cant get below 1.7 60', no matter what I try.
__________________
DAVENPORT STAGE 2 PLUS - 2" ARH ceramic coated headers - 3" ARH catless exhaust - Stock NPP mufflers - Kong ported SC - Katech 103 ported TB - Rotofab 5" Big gulp CAI - 22.5% lower pulley - ATI Harmonic balancer - Cordes SC expansion tank - MSD hi temp ignition wires - Koolsox spark plug insulators - custom tunes - 660hp/725tq pump - 713hp/763tq race







meSSohappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 02:11 PM   #7
TJay74

 
Drives: 17 Camaro SS 1LE & 16 Sierra AT CC
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 2,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by meSSohappy View Post
How does one unlock the TCM? I have HPT and custom tunes, but my TCM overrides the STAB and reduces timing when I hit the gas at the drag strip. Cant get below 1.7 60', no matter what I try.

You have to contact HP Tuners and either send your TCM into them to have it unlocked and then shipped back to you or you can buy a new unlocked TCM from them.

As said, once you get the TCM back you will need to purchase 4 - credits ($50 each, $200 total for the TCM) to be able to tune the TCM.
__________________
2017 Camaro SS 1LE - Procharger D1SC w/ Tial 2" BOV & Race intercooler / ARH full length catless headers / Alky meth injection system - 650rwhp on conservative tune
TJay74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 06:17 PM   #8
meSSohappy

 
meSSohappy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2018 ZL1 A10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJay74 View Post
You have to contact HP Tuners and either send your TCM into them to have it unlocked and then shipped back to you or you can buy a new unlocked TCM from them.

As said, once you get the TCM back you will need to purchase 4 - credits ($50 each, $200 total for the TCM) to be able to tune the TCM.
Ok. I have 2 credits left.
__________________
DAVENPORT STAGE 2 PLUS - 2" ARH ceramic coated headers - 3" ARH catless exhaust - Stock NPP mufflers - Kong ported SC - Katech 103 ported TB - Rotofab 5" Big gulp CAI - 22.5% lower pulley - ATI Harmonic balancer - Cordes SC expansion tank - MSD hi temp ignition wires - Koolsox spark plug insulators - custom tunes - 660hp/725tq pump - 713hp/763tq race







meSSohappy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.