Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

AWE Tuning

Thread Closed

Old 06-08-2018, 10:55 PM   #1
trcsr

Drives: 2018 2LT/RS Conv
Re: My complaint about "being screwed by GM"

First, I apologize for my poor choice of words; screwed was too harsh.

Now, that me explain a little of why I made the post in the first place. I am an Engineer (which a lot of people will probably hold that against me saying that I should have known better) and for many years I worked for a company making consumer items (not automobiles). Every 3 or 4 years the company would come out with a "new, improved" model of one or more of their products. While there were many differences in components, including user interfaces and external appearances, we strived to use as many parts from previous models as possible. If a new part design was not critical to the "new, improved" model we used the previous parts. This was done to reduce the amount of retooling necessary for the new models and to reduce the amount of stock needed to be kept in inventory of the dealer repair shops, but to also not require a lot of retraining of the repair technicians. While my projects were not quite as complex as the Camaro, I could see quite a few places where it did not seem like the dimensions needed to be different.

As far as the suggestions that I should have done more research prior to buying the 6th Gen, I had very little choice as GM bought back my 5th Gen due to the Lemon Laws and a part of the buyback was to upgrade to the 6th Gen.

I hope that some of this will explain why I am not "on drugs" or an idiot as some have suggested. Since the previous post has been closed, properly so, I hope that this explanation will also put the thread to bed.
Old 06-08-2018, 11:07 PM   #2
Jsreo

Drives: 2017 2SS Manual
Why? just Why?
Old 06-08-2018, 11:27 PM   #3
torqueaddict