CAMARO6

CAMARO6 (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/index.php)
-   6th gen Camaro 1LE (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=296)
-   -   1LE SC3 Tire Question (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=594388)

kgerm 07-01-2021 01:47 PM

1LE SC3 Tire Question

Hello all, I am new here and been lurking a while. This is my first car so I am new to the Camaro family as well as driving. We currently have a 2018 2SS 1LE with the Good year SC3 tires that are great but may not bee good for wet weather driving from what some have said. My drive to school is only a few miles, 3 to be exact, from my home. Do you think that I need to change my tires to the Michelin Pilot Super Sports for the amount of driving I am/will be doing in the rain? My dad and I discussed them but have concerns over losing traction at the track.

Yes, other threads have seemed to touch on this but not to what I am looking for since I will not be getting on any highways while raining nor wet. The roads I drive to school will have a max speed of 40 and not have extreme cold weather. If that happens, my dad will either drive us or let us take his Superduty.

Thank you!

Rayvan 07-01-2021 01:50 PM

You should be okay at that distance, but your engine may not like that distance. You'd never get it warmed up!

kropscamaro16 07-01-2021 01:57 PM

if you are worried about always get an extra set of tires/wheels but i wouldnt if you are that close

Nothing like an SS 07-01-2021 02:02 PM

Short trips, slower speeds, no real cold, you'll be fine. As said, your engine will suffer more than anything.

kgerm 07-01-2021 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rayvan (Post 11033635)
You should be okay at that distance, but your engine may not like that distance. You'd never get it warmed up!