Homepage Garage Wiki Register Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum


Caryle Racing


Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2016, 12:05 AM   #1
Razzaa
 
Razzaa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vamvouver
Posts: 213
Key fobs stopped working!!!

All of a sudden both of my key fobs don't work at all. I can't drive my car or pop the trunk or anything else. Anyone run into this before?
Razzaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:09 AM   #2
Sledgehammer70
Lethal Camaro
 
Sledgehammer70's Avatar
 
Drives: 16 Camaro 2SS & 16 Suburban LT
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 3,714
I haven't seen this yet. Sounds like you need to ring the dealer to come pick the car up and fix it.

I am assuming the link between your car and fobs got reset for something?
__________________
Sledgehammer70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 04:13 AM   #3
Razzaa
 
Razzaa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vamvouver
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehammer70 View Post
I haven't seen this yet. Sounds like you need to ring the dealer to come pick the car up and fix it.

I am assuming the link between your car and fobs got reset for something?


I can unlock the car with the onstar app. If I place the fob in the back cup holder, it will allow me to start the car. The fob won't do anything else though.
Razzaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 04:34 AM   #4
nvrsatisfied
 
nvrsatisfied's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 SS
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Metairie
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzaa View Post
I can unlock the car with the onstar app. If I place the fob in the back cup holder, it will allow me to start the car. The fob won't do anything else though.
In your first post you stated you can't drive it, Second post states you can start it with fob in car. If it starts, why can't you drive it?
__________________
1SS Summit White Coupe MRC NPP A8
Ordered 1/12/16
TPW 2/15/16
nvrsatisfied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 07:37 AM   #5
jasonsk287
 
jasonsk287's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 405
Maybe they need to be reprogrammed for some reason?
__________________
2012 Camaro 1LT
Summit White/Black Rally Stripes
Ordered 8/21/11, built 9/22/11, delivered 10/7/11
jasonsk287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 08:07 AM   #6
jeverton
 
jeverton's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 Camaro 50th Anniversary 2SS
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 252
Maybe the battery in the key fob is dead? Replace with a CR2032 or equivalent battery.
Owners manual - page 34... If the transmitter battery is weak or if there is interference with the signal, the DIC may display NO REMOTE DETECTED or NO REMOTE KEY WAS DETECTED PLACE KEY IN TRANSMITTER POCKET THEN START YOUR VEHICLE. See Key and Lock Messages page 138.
__________________
50th Anniversary Edition 2SS, NFG, BLACK, M6, MRC, NPP, BLACK BOWTIES
Build Date: July 21, 2016
Production Sequence: 934
jeverton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 09:43 AM   #7
MovieGuy

 
MovieGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeverton View Post
Maybe the battery in the key fob is dead? Replace with a CR2032 or equivalent battery.
Owners manual - page 34... If the transmitter battery is weak or if there is interference with the signal, the DIC may display NO REMOTE DETECTED or NO REMOTE KEY WAS DETECTED PLACE KEY IN TRANSMITTER POCKET THEN START YOUR VEHICLE. See Key and Lock Messages page 138.
Did the battery die in both of his fobs simultaneously?
__________________
http://www.camaro6.com/forums/image.php?u=115947&type=sigpic&dateline=1461721697

Life after retirement
MovieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 09:44 AM   #8
MovieGuy

 
MovieGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvrsatisfied View Post
In your first post you stated you can't drive it, Second post states you can start it with fob in car. If it starts, why can't you drive it?
Looking at the posts being 4 hours apart, I am guessing he played around with it some after posting and discovered he could drive it.
__________________
http://www.camaro6.com/forums/image.php?u=115947&type=sigpic&dateline=1461721697

Life after retirement
MovieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 10:55 AM   #9
Razzaa
 
Razzaa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vamvouver
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by MovieGuy View Post
Looking at the posts being 4 hours apart, I am guessing he played around with it some after posting and discovered he could drive it.


Yup. I discovered it could start with the fob in the cup holder.
Razzaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 10:58 AM   #10
Razzaa
 
Razzaa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vamvouver
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by MovieGuy View Post
Did the battery die in both of his fobs simultaneously?


Exactly. My second fob is my backup and has only been used a couple times by my wife. I'm thinking the transmitter in the car that picks up the fob signal is done.
Razzaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 12:43 PM   #11
MovieGuy

 
MovieGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razzaa View Post
Exactly. My second fob is my backup and has only been used a couple times by my wife. I'm thinking the transmitter in the car that picks up the fob signal is done.
At least you can get it to the dealership under it's own power
__________________
http://www.camaro6.com/forums/image.php?u=115947&type=sigpic&dateline=1461721697

Life after retirement
MovieGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:42 PM   #12
Razzaa
 
Razzaa's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vamvouver
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by MovieGuy View Post
At least you can get it to the dealership under it's own power


All of a sudden my TPMS failed and than started working 5 minutes later. Also both my fobs work now. I scheduled an appointment with service for Tuesday. Something is acting up, that's for sure.
Razzaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 03:13 PM   #13
mcsoul

 
Drives: Want a gen 6
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 75089
Posts: 1,023
Sounds like your computer or I2C (or whatever they call the com bus) bus is hosed.
mcsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 09:53 PM   #14
BCKTLST
 
Drives: 2017
Join Date: May 2016
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 89
Well here we go. Same thing happened to me tonight. Parked car and went to shut if off and got an error message on the screen that said..No Remote detected. Thought it was odd, got out of the car and went to lock it and NOTHING. Wife went and got hers and still nothing. Put it in cup holder and it started.
We have only had this 2017 Camaro 50th SS2 for less than 2 months and have already had to have it towed in for a a new starter after only 3 weeks. Now having this remote issue.

This is our first Chevrolet in many years and I am remembering why!
BCKTLST is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.