Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 05-05-2015, 12:45 PM   #1
Jsmith18

Drives: 2013 Camaro LFX
Angry 89 in 55

I was on the road to merge with an Interstate and there is a speed trap of about 5 troopers waiting with a plane in the sky clocking people. i got a ticket saying I was going 89 in a 55 with a mandatory court appearance. this is my first time being pulled over. Yes, i know I'm an idiot for driving that fast. Could someone please explain to me my options and what the best course of action is?
Jsmith18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:50 PM   #2
ELIC1
Account Suspended

Drives: black and silver
shut up and pay the tixx... and move on. or get a lawyer to plea it down. that's your only 2 options
ELIC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:55 PM   #3
NC_Nole

Drives: 2011 2SS/RS A6
A lawyer is your best friend here.
NC_Nole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:55 PM   #4
USMUCL

Drives: 2014 Red Camaro 1SS 1LE
Every state is different. But, if you can avoid "reckless driving" and just plea to a regular speeding ticket, I'd count my blessings if I were you.
USMUCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:57 PM   #5
Evergreen6

Drives: 2023 Camaro 1SS
I'd get in touch with a lawyer. The goal is to reduce the judgement from a reckless (if that's how the ticket was written) to something more tenable in terms of insurance and keep what could be a misdemeanor off your record. If you're a first time offender and have no history, chances are better that they won't throw the book at you, but nobody can guarantee that.
Evergreen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 12:59 PM   #6
stoopid

Drives: 4 wheels
Quote:
Originally Posted by NC_Nole View Post
A lawyer is your best friend here.