Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Bigwormgraphix

Old 09-03-2017, 01:07 PM   #1
1hprush
2018 ZL1 1LE

Drives: 2018 ZL1 1LE
"Battery Tender" under the hood 2017 SS

Been searching for a diy under the hood install with the battery tender eyelets. One that I could leave attached and just plug into. This has been a bit of a challenge because the positive post is small and at first glance, it doesn't seem possible....however, I came up with this idea so maybe this may work for you too.

Please note: I am not a certified mechanic, the project below has worked for me, however your results may vary, therefore I take no responsibility for the outcome or your ability to perform this task.

So...on with the project!

1)Below are the tools and procedures I used for this project.
2)The tender eyelet on the cord is to big to fit around the (+) post. So I cut a 1/4" piece out of the eyelet to reduce the size.
3)Using the needle nose pliers shape, reform and mold the eyelet to make it smaller.
4)Then use the pliers to pinch the two ends together to form the new eyelet, then test fit until the eyelet fits snug around the post.
5)Then hook up the tender power cord to the eyelet and route through the hood latch, down and out through the front grill.
6)(Optional) The (+) cap will not fully seat back on the bracket until you make an adjustment with the Dremel the cap will
sit on top of the eyelet cord just fine if you choose not to go this route, however I prefer a clean look.
8)I used the cone grinding stone to form a cutout so the cap will seat back on the bracket around the post.
9)All clean and buttoned up. I've been using this setup now for 2 weeks trouble free. Good Luck!
Attached Images

Last edited by 1hprush; 09-06-2017 at 11:41 AM.
1hprush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 01:44 PM   #2
Sftshldr
Beast Rider