Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

Old 07-23-2014, 08:09 AM   #1
goinggone14

Drives: 2014 Camaro 1SS / RS
SS M6: Jumpy 2nd gear?

I'll preface this with the fact that I'm not a new manual transmission driver by any means:

Has anyone else had trouble with 2nd gear on the SS?

I have a 2014 1SS that I've been driving for about 2000 miles now, and I just can't seem to guarantee a smooth 2nd gear. First and reverse require a mild amount of riding the clutch, pretty typical. 3rd-6th are smooth and effortless nearly 100% of the time.

2nd gear just seems to give me a hard time more often than I would like to admit, significantly harder than 1st from a stop, which makes very little sense from a transmission/gear ratio perspective.

What rpms/mphs do you find yourselves shifting at smoothly in 2nd gear?
goinggone14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 08:42 AM   #2
Spektrum

Drives: 2013 2SS 1LE
This is my second manual trans 5th Gen. Practically all my other cars, from a Toyota Supra Turbo to even manual transmission Toyota FJ Cruiser didn't require the same clutch manipulation.

I find myself having to ease the clutch pedal out slower than you would normally expect to get that perfect shift. I understand this more when I'm riding passenger to friends/family that drive my car and are too just too quick. First and second gear just buck and jump like crazy.

With the small adjustment to my driving habits I can shift at any RPM smoothly.
Spektrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 09:03 AM   #3
goinggone14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spektrum View Post