Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance - Wash, Wax, Detailing, Exterior Repairs

Phastek Performance

Old 02-21-2018, 07:38 AM   #1
Hms31093

Drives: 2018 Camaro SS 1LE
Carnauba Wax Preferences by hand

I have been reading a lot in this forum about the new polishes/sealants over the past few days (carpro/blackfire), but i was looking for some input on everyone's favorite Carnauba waxes that can easily be applied by hand. I completely understand the benefit of these sealants, but i just prefer traditional waxes. Some input on towels and process would be helpful as well (wax then sealant?). I recently moved and left my detail stuff at home so it is time to buy a new arsenal. I have read a bunch of stuff on Collinite and Meguiars so far. Clearly, i am a bit of a novice so everything helps.

Additionally, i just got a new 2018 SS 1LE in nightfall gray, so if anyone has some experience with the gray or black that would be awesome. I am sure this has been a topic before, but thought it could be refreshed.

Thanks!!
Hms31093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 07:49 AM   #2
Glen e
Retired from Car mfrs....

Drives: 2LT RS/HR-V
Any good microfiber will take off a carnuba and buff it. A simple sponge applicator will apply it. Remember gloss comes from the polish, not the carnuba so put a fine finishing polish like meguires 205 to apply the same way first.

Carnubas have a nice glow to them, and are used for shows for a great look. The reason they are not used much anymore for a daily driver is they wash off quickly, especially in any sunny climate that is higher than about 70°. Keeping it out of the sun and washing occaisionally will extend it.

A carnuba that gets good reviews from show guys:

https://www.autopia-carcare.com/pinn...l#.Wo15hcpOmfA
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2018, 08:00 AM   #3
Krowser

Drives: ZL1 Mosaic Black