Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 11-03-2019, 09:47 PM   #1
Chomorro

Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Bought my first camaro first muscle car. CEL already...

My background is turbo or super charged imports and I have always wanted a muscle car. Had a built motor Subaru STI before this and decided no more race cars and got a jeep wrangler unlimited my first automatic non sports car in 20 years and went to town with the off road upgrades.

The thought process was fun muscle car that gets better mpg then my jeep (14 mpg) can withstand boost or upgrades without blowing up and reliable. Carb legal 500whp was the plan.

Browsing the for sale ads I ran across a 6 speed 2010 Camaro SS in my budget price range and went and picked it up yesterday. The wife will drive the lifted jeep and I will daily the camaro.

I did everything right, paid to have the dealer inspect, clean carfax non performance modded SS, passed smog with no issues.

As soon as I take it out if the parking lot after handing over the check. Check engine light pops on, along with stability light and reduced power warning WTF!!!

Narrowed it down to always on CEL of P0641. After cold starting and driving the car feels normal until warm, then randomly a initial take off in first will throw the stability light and reduced power. Before the reduced power the car feels normal. It doesnt throw the stability light at night it seems or when it's cold. Google tells me this CEL is a huge pain in the butt to correct, tried most of online fixes and hopefully my mechanic can figure it out for not too much money.

So much for getting away from all the import electronic gremlins!