Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > 2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum

BeckyD @ James Martin Chevy

Old 09-08-2015, 09:02 AM   #1
joecamaro53

Drives: last Chevy was LT1 Caprice
What to do, what to do?

A while back there was a poll about age of buyers. Well, I just turned 62, and have planned my retirement for 64 (I work in manufacturing, and the work is physically stressful). My wife would like for me to work longer until she can retire at 62, but considering our six-year age difference, I have made it abundantly clear that will not happen, and she has very reluctantly accepted it. Last week, I offered to work one more year if she will let me get a "retirement" car now.

Since I'm on this site, you can figure out what I want. Nothing with an "H" on the grill, no Japanese wearing sombreros, sure as hell no blue ovals. I learned to drive on a Chevy -- '56 210 w/ three-on-the-tree -- my first four cars had bow-ties, next was a Buick Regal Turbo, my last Chevy was a '94 Caprice LT1 I drove for 17 years (my older daughter had to drive it to school one day and quickly figured out why I liked driving it so much; I know because her sister ratted her out).

She starts asking pointed questions: "what kind of gas mileage?" -- 15-16, same or better than Caprice, "well, that's a gas-guzzler", her Civic gets 25, my Accord V6 gets 21; "how much is insurance?" -- slightly higher than Accord, a lot lower than your Civic (I've already checked); and then the potential deal-breaker: "it is an automatic?". She flat refuses to learn to drive a stick, though several of her female friends and coworkers drive manuals, and I have offered some of them money to teach her the fine art of manual gear-changing.