CAMARO6

CAMARO6 (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/index.php)
-   2016+ Camaro: 6th Gen Camaro general forum (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   My Design Idea for the 2016 Camaro (https://www.camaro6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=310821)

Doc 08-02-2013 11:17 PM

My Design Idea for the 2016 Camaro

4 Attachment(s)
Since I've complained about the 2014 refresh and criticized the styling, I felt it would be worth the effort (and only fair) to at least show what I would like to see and have in mind for the styling of the 6th gen Camaro. These are my own ideas and while not exactly how I see it in my mind, they're pretty close. Trying to put on paper an image you have in your mind isn't quite as easy as you would think it would be. I'm not an automotive artist so I struggled greatly with various details; especially the side view. And for those that are curious, these are all done in Adobe Illustrator.

First we have the front/side/rear view of my interpretation of an SS 1LE which has the wide 19" wheels, wheel well extensions and racing stripes. The long "stripe" on the side isn't a stripe; it's actually a grooved recess to help hide body panel seams. The side scoops are functional; on the track models (1LE, ZL1, Z/28) they provide air to the trans and diff coolers. Putting the coolers back there helps shift some of the forward weight to the rear to improve the front to rear weight balance.
Attachment 540061

Next we have a pair of alternate views; the top views 5 and 6 are more traditional with the round tail light styling inspired by the 1970 1/2 Camaro, and round headlights. For views 5a and 6a on the bottom the back has a stylized version of the 1967 tail lights but with a horizontal backup light in the middle to modernize it a bit; the front has stylized rectangular headlights which are also a more modern look.
Attachment 540063